Gordon County Board of Commissioners
Work Session Minutes

January 3, 2022

Members Present
Bud Owens, Commissioner
Kevin Cunningham, Commissioner
Chad Steward, Commissioner
Bruce Potts, Commissioner
Kurt Sutherland, Commissioner

Others Present
James F. Ledbetter, County Administrator
Keith King, Executive Assistant and Interim County Clerk
9 Guests

Senior Commissioner Chad Steward called the meeting to order at 5:45 p.m.

Discussion of Regular Agenda Items:

Election of Commission Chairman and Vice-chairman: Administrator Ledbetter explained the procedure for electing the Chairman and Vice-chairman.

Account Correction Order Resolution: Administrator Ledbetter stated that this will allow the Tax Assessor’s office to correct errors on tax digest.

Application for Malt Beverage, Wine, and/or Liquor License: Administrator Ledbetter presented the application as Citgo Food Mart located at 788 Belwood Road SE Calhoun, Georgia 3070. The reason behind the new application is that the applicant name has changed and the notices were run in the paper after the last round of alcohol license renewals.

Appointment of Ken Dinning to the Planning and Zoning Commission: Administrator Ledbetter advised that this nomination is from the Commission District 4, Kurt Sutherland and will be replacing Nathan Serritt. Commissioner Kurt Sutherland introduced Mr. Dinning as a good businessman and family man and someone that Commissioner Sutherland has known for a long time.

Appointment of County Clerk: Administrator Ledbetter thanked Annette Berry for her 27 years of service and announced that after a few weeks of advertising the position the County received 14 applications. County staff narrowed the resumes down and the interview panel met with the top two candidates. The job was offered to Mrs. Hollis Barton and she has accepted. The official start date will be January 30, 2023.

Administrator’s Report:

Administrator Ledbetter read his Administrator’s Report into the record. (Copy Attached)


Senior Commissioner Chad Steward adjourned the Work Session at 5:58 p.m.

Author: County Clerk

Share This Post On