11/3/2015 BOC Work Session Minutes

NOVEMBER 3, 2015

The Gordon County Board of Commissioners held a Work Session Tuesday, November 3, 2015 at 5:30 p.m. in the conference room of the Administration Building

Chairman Hood called the meeting to order.

The Board discussed each item on the agenda for the Regular Meeting and made no changes; one item was added later in the meeting.

Mr. Bill Thompson came before the Board to explain the item on the agenda for the abatement for project Stopwatch.

Mr. Brian McClellan, Director of the Information Technology Department came before the Board and presented an update for his department. Numbers of personal computers installed and maintained by this department increased 426% from 2005 to 2015 and laptops increased 1,300% during this period. Other equipment increased for this same period, such as surveillance cameras 1,063%, servers 450%, dvr/nvr 700%, and firewalls 500%. Tablets and smart phones went from have none in 2005 to 25 and 88 respectively.

The Board discussed the appointment that they are due to make to the Elections and Voter Registration Board. Five nominations were presented from the Republican Party for consideration to fill an unexpired term on that board. Attorney Jim Ledbetter explained the process for this appointment. Commissioner Cunningham suggested that the Board approve appointing Mr. Damon Walker to fill the unexpired term. There was a consensus of the Board to add this item to the agenda for the appointment.

Chairman Hood advised the Board that she has received a letter from Region I EMS advising that the term is expiring for Mr. Courtney Taylor. The position is not automatically renewed and requires a renewal or replacement decision from the Board. There was a consensus of the Board to add this item to the November 17, 2015 Regular Meeting agenda for approval.

Commissioner Gazaway made a motion to close the Work Session. Commissioner Cunningham seconded the motion and all voted aye. There being no further business the Work Session adjourned at 5:50 p.m.

Author: County Clerk

Share This Post On