Board of Commissioners

(From Left to Right: Commissioner Chad Steward, Vice-Chair Kevin Cunningham, Chair M.L. Bud Owens,
Commissioner Bruce Potts, and Commissioner Kurt Sutherland)

The Board of County Commissioners is composed of five members elected by the voters through at-large elections for four year staggered terms. The Board, as the county’s governing authority, is responsible for establishing policy for county operations, enacting ordinances and resolutions to promote the county’s health, safety, and welfare, and approving the annual budget and millage rate which funds the operations of the constitutional officers as well as the departments under the Board’s jurisdiction. The Board appoints a county administrator to supervise the day-to-day operations of the county.The Gordon County Board of Commissioners meets the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the Assembly Room of the Judicial Building, 101 South Piedmont Street, in Calhoun. In addition, a work session is held at 5:00 p.m. The public is encouraged to attend and participate in these public meetings.

Contact Information:
Hollis Barton, County Clerk
Gordon County Administration Building
201 North Wall Street Calhoun, GA 30701
Phone: 706-629-3795  |  Fax: 706-629-9516

Office Hours:
Monday – Friday, 8:30 am – 5:00 pm